15 new castes to be combined in Central OBC list


The government has approved inclusion of 15 new castes in the central list of Other Backward Classes (OBC) list. The proposal was approved on Wednesday, November 30 during a meeting of the Cabinet, which was headed by the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi.

The recommendations were made by the National Commission of Backward Classes (NCBC).

The following are the important features of the proposal:

A total of 28 changes were recommended by the NCBC in eight states including Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand

Of the 28 communities that have been included in the central list, 15 are new entries while nine were sub-castes and 4 were corrections

The people belonging to these categories will also become eligible for benefits under various welfare schemes, scholarships etc. that are administered by the Centre and is presently available to the persons belonging to OBCs.

Please follow and like us:

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial