R Ashwin Mentioned Cricketer of the Year, Test cricketer of the Year


Ravichandran Ashwin, the Indian offspinner, was named the Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year 2016 by the International Cricket Council on Thursday (December 22). He is now the third Indian cricketer to win the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy after Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010).

The top honours also went to Misbah-ul-Haq, the Pakistan skipper, who won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, Marais Erasmus, who won the ICC Umpire of the Year 2016 and Quinton de Kock who was named the ODI Cricketer of the Year. Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman was named the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2016, while Carlos Brathwaite was awarded the ICC T20I Performance of the Year for his brilliance in the World T20 final. Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad was named the ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

Please follow and like us:

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial